Jagan Reddy’s uncle and former Minister Vivekananda Reddy lost in Kadapa.

Big win for TDP in YSRCP stronghold party bags all three MLC seats under local bodies quota
news Politics Monday, March 20, 2017 - 12:36

The ruling Telugu Desam Party has bagged all three MLC seats in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council under the Local Authorities Constituencies that went to polls. On Monday, the party bagged the three seats from Kurnool, Nellore and Kadapa Districts - all three considered the strongholds of YS Jaganmohan Reddy’s YSRCP.

In Kadapa especially, the YSRCP had a bitter loss, with Jagan Reddy’s uncle and former Minister YS Vivekananda Reddy losing the election by a little over 30 seats. Kadapa has been a stronghold of Jagan Reddy’s family for over six decades now.

TDP candidate B-Tech Ravi won in Kadapa district over, dealing a big blow to the YSRCP.

Meanwhile in Kurnool, TDP leader Shilpa Chakrapani Reddy won the elections by 56 votes. While the YSRCP candidate Venkat Reddy was reportedly leading initially, Shilpa finally managed to win.

In Nellore district, TDP’s Vakati Narayana Reddy was declared the winner with a margin of 85 votes, defeating YSRCP candidate Anam Vijaya Kumar Reddy

Vakati Narayana Reddy reportedly gained huge support from more than 500 Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituency, Mandal Parishad Territorial Constituency, councillors and corporators.

Of the nine Local Authorities Constituencies in Andhra, TDP had won six seats unopposed, after Independent candidates from Srikakulam, West Godavari and Anantapur districts withdrew their nominations on March 3.

For the remaining three seats, results were announced on Monday, giving a big shot in the arm for the TDP on Jagan Reddy’s turf.


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.