The committee found the journalists guilty for breach of privilege of minister Azam Khan.

UP Assembly inquiry committee recommends legal action against nine journalists for Muzaffarnagar stingPTI
news Muzzaffarnagar Sting Wednesday, February 17, 2016 - 11:01

An inquiry committee of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly on Tuesday tabled a report, which indicted nine (former and present) broadcast journalists from the India Today group for a sting operation on the Muzaffarnagar communal riots.

The two shows ‘Operation Danga’ and ‘Operation Riot for Vote’ were aired in September 2013.

The committee found the journalists guilty for breach of privilege of minister Azam Khan.

The nine journalists include Supriya Prasad (Managing Editor-Aaj Tak), Rahul Kanwal (then Managing Editor-Headlines Today now renamed India Today TV), Deepak Sharma, Arun Singh, Harish Sharma (all members of the then Special Investigations Team) Manish Kumar (Output Head, Aaj Tak) along with anchors Punya Prasoon Bajpayee, Gaurav Sawant and Padmaja Joshi.

The committee in its report recommended action against these nine journalists under various Sections of IPC and IT Act including 153 (A), 295 (A), 200, 463,  464 & 465, 469 , 471‎ of IPC and IT Act (2000) and Cable TV Networks (regulation) Act- 1995 Sec-5 & Section 20.

It also recommended action against police and administration officials for their alleged conduct before the sting operation team.

Rahul Kanwal, the then managing editor of Headlines Today and managing editor of the TV Today network now told Indian Express, “I will not comment on this. Talk to our legal team.”

The seven-member committee which was formed in September 2013, headed by SP MLA Satish Kumar Nigam, was probing the authenticity of a sting operation related to Muzaffarnagar riots, allegedly blaming Azam Khan.

The Muzaffarnagar communal riots killed more than 50 people.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.