The hunger strike was launched on April 6 after all the five MPs tendered their resignations to the Speaker.

Andhra special status YSRCP ends indefinite fast after all five MPs hospitalised
news Protest Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 07:33

The YSR Congress Party on Wednesday called off the indefinite hunger strike of party MPs in New Delhi, after two more leaders fell ill and had to be shifted to a hospital. 

The last two remaining MPs, Midhun Reddy and YS Avinash Reddy, were shifted to Ram Manohar Lohia Hospital in the national capital after their health worsened due to continuous fasting.

There was tension as party workers protested the MPs being detained. However, security forces were present at the spot and managed to bring the situation under control and shift the MPs.

"MPs Midhun Reddy and Avinash Reddy were forcefully taken to hospital after their condition deteriorated due to continuous fasting. The hunger strike is over now. Agitation that we have been doing for last four years will continue till the time special status is implemented," MP V Vijayasai Reddy was quoted as saying.

Two senior MPs, Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy (73) and Varaprasada Rao (64) were the first ones to be admitted to Ram Manohar Lohia Hospital earlier this week, after their condition deteriorated due to continuous fasting. 

Following this, YV Subba Reddy was also hospitalised. 

Earlier in the week, speaking to his MPs via video conference from Andhra Pradesh, Jagan had told them, "The entire State of Andhra Pradesh is proud of you. This is the fifth day of fasting, close to 100 hours. People of Andhra Pradesh are with you, today our party held highway blockade and tomorrow we are doing Rail blockade to protest against the injustice to our State. We are doing everything to secure our rights. You MPs are our inspiration."

The hunger strike was launched on April 6 after all the five YSR Congress Lok Sabha members tendered their resignations to the Speaker. 

The YSR Congress and the TDP have been demanding special category status to Andhra Pradesh, which entails special financial packages and other perks from the Central government.  The parties contend that after Telangana was carved out of the state in 2014, most of the revenue sources including the capital city of Hyderabad have gone to Telangana. 

The ruling TDP also walked out of the BJP-led ruling coalition, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in March this year.


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.