Articles by VillageSquare

Farmers in India’s east coast, which is vulnerable to cyclones and floods, have found commercial success by growing vetiver, a perennial grass that has a variety of uses.
Saturday, January 4, 2020 - 14:46
With abandoned bore wells turning hazardous for children, farmers in Tamil Nadu are on a voluntary drive to convert them into rainwater harvesting structures.
Saturday, November 23, 2019 - 23:58
With increasing popularity of clam meat, units processing these molluscs enable women to make a sustainable living without leaving their village.
Saturday, November 9, 2019 - 19:43
Thorny cactus plants and wild trees provide multiple benefits as bio-fences and are making a comeback in Tamil Nadu.
Saturday, October 26, 2019 - 23:30
Mental Health Action Trust, a not-for-profit organisation, through a community-based psychiatry initiative treats patients for free, unites them with family and helps them get back to normalcy.
Saturday, August 31, 2019 - 15:56
Farmers who grew traditional crops like tobacco, millets, etc., said that their life has been transformed after growing chia.
Saturday, May 11, 2019 - 17:54
Activists say that the government is supplying poorly treated wastewater of Bengaluru to Kolar and the groundwater there is at a high risk of contamination due to this.
Saturday, May 4, 2019 - 16:13
Though the snacks are known as Kalpathi kondattams, they trace their origin to the neighbouring state of Tamil Nadu.
Saturday, March 16, 2019 - 20:47
Food forests are designed to mimic natural forests and usually have seven layers.
Saturday, February 2, 2019 - 13:04
Faced with a shortage of cattle feed, farmers in several districts of Tamil Nadu have adopted offbeat solutions that not only bring feeding costs down but also increase the yields of milk.
Tuesday, December 25, 2018 - 11:40

Pages