Articles by Sowmya Rajendran

Young directors who work with the big stars they idolise seem to feel it's unnecessary to turn the actor into a character in the story, and instead have him playing himself.
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 - 14:23
In this interview with TNM, Ashwin speaks about his upcoming film ‘Game Over’, why he chose Taapsee to play the lead and more.
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 - 14:34
At one point, my daughter could say 'No' in all the five languages that she was exposed to and we thought she'd become a UN translator; then she grew up.
Monday, June 3, 2019 - 17:12
The film looks like a high end version of RJ Balaji's 'LKG'.
Friday, May 31, 2019 - 13:59
While the BJP has secured over 50% of the vote share in Karnataka and made in-roads in Telangana, the party is still struggling to find a foothold in other southern states.
Friday, May 24, 2019 - 16:27
The script was clearly eaten up by termites because the film looks like people just turned up on the sets every day and made up what they'd shoot on the go.
Friday, May 10, 2019 - 17:21
In a state and country where women’s sexuality is tightly controlled because of ideas of “honour” associated with caste, what “protection” can those infused with caste pride offer them?
Tuesday, May 7, 2019 - 16:29
The film, which is about an acid attack survivor, forces us to turn away from the popular male-centric narrative of 'love failure' and look at the horror from the eyes of a woman.
Saturday, May 4, 2019 - 15:40
The mystery in ‘K13’ begins right from the first scene and has us on edge but the denouement isn't entirely satisfying.
Friday, May 3, 2019 - 16:56
A middle-aged woman was so offended by a young woman’s dress, that she exhorted men in the restaurant to rape her. But the reactions to this horrific incident aren’t exactly ‘woke’.
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 - 16:14