Articles by Sowmya Aji

The downfall of the government started from the powerful Jarkiholis of Belagavi, a family riven by politics and mutual antipathy that almost rivals the Mahabharata in its intensity.
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 - 13:12
The BJP has gained by discrediting and breaking down the one person who could have prevented the imminent collapse and revived the Congress in Karnataka – Siddaramaiah.
Tuesday, July 16, 2019 - 11:03
As his friends will tell you, Shivakumar is harmless, friendly and even rather charming, as long as you don’t cross his path. If you do however...
Thursday, July 11, 2019 - 11:09
There were 2 legendary rivalries in Karnataka politics that were attempted to be buried when this coalition govt was formed. One of them at least has a hand in its fall.
Monday, July 8, 2019 - 11:09
The Congress, which got just one seat out of 28 in the LS polls, recently won the most number of ULB wards (509), followed by the BJP (366) and the JD(S) (174).
Monday, June 3, 2019 - 11:10
While the rest of the South has been nearly immune to the Modi wave in India, there are multiple factors that have been in play for the sweep of Karnataka.
Friday, May 24, 2019 - 07:32
Bye-elections to the two seats of Kundagol and Chincholi are crucial for the survival of the coalition government in Karnataka.
Thursday, May 9, 2019 - 16:41
Lok Sabha constituencies Vijayapura and Bagalkote both have women candidates standing for elections on the Congress-JD(S) ticket.
Thursday, April 4, 2019 - 14:58
Krishna – or KBG as everyone, including his wife Meenakshi, refers to him – is known for his political astuteness, pragmatism, and planning.
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 - 13:18
With Congress and JD(S) party workers refusing to work together, will it pave way for the BJP to conquer the coalition's bastions?
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 - 12:56