Articles by Nityanand Jayaraman

Twelve people were killed and 3000 people were exposed to toxic Styrene gas in the Vizag tragedy that took place on May 7.
Friday, May 29, 2020 - 17:13
Residential areas and hazardous industries cannot co-exist. Planning authorities must ensure that the two are never allowed next to each other.
Thursday, May 28, 2020 - 12:50
That the ordinary people of India do not trust the political class is evident from the crowds of people that are on our highways walking, cycling, hitch-hiking home.
Saturday, May 16, 2020 - 11:12
The government order makes it illegal for any person or media outlet to air information on COVID-19 without obtaining prior permission from health officials.
Monday, March 16, 2020 - 17:25
The Madras High Court had recently directed the the Chennai Corporation to pursue the proposal for a beach road connecting Marina to Besant Nagar.
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 - 17:17
Proposals to establish two mega oil refineries within the Cauvery delta raises doubts of whether the delta environment may just be moving from the frying pan into the fire, writes Nityanand Jayaraman.
Wednesday, February 12, 2020 - 14:20
The order was issued in response to a request for exemption from public hearing by companies, including Vedanta Ltd, whose proposal to explore for hydrocarbons in the Cauvery delta has been met with public opposition.
Monday, January 20, 2020 - 19:03
Why in the hazy world would Chennai’s air pollution depend on the great South Asian pollution plume, with its epicentre in some obscure Hindi-speaking northern city?
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 - 15:51
Climate Central's report confirms what activists have been saying for long.
Saturday, November 2, 2019 - 15:22
Chennai is currently in the grips of a serious groundwater crisis, which is being worsened by over-exploitation of this resource in this time of crisis, writes activist Nityanand Jayaraman.
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 - 12:30

Pages