Articles by Nityanand Jayaraman

The order was issued in response to a request for exemption from public hearing by companies, including Vedanta Ltd, whose proposal to explore for hydrocarbons in the Cauvery delta has been met with public opposition.
Monday, January 20, 2020 - 19:03
Why in the hazy world would Chennai’s air pollution depend on the great South Asian pollution plume, with its epicentre in some obscure Hindi-speaking northern city?
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 - 15:51
Climate Central's report confirms what activists have been saying for long.
Saturday, November 2, 2019 - 15:22
Chennai is currently in the grips of a serious groundwater crisis, which is being worsened by over-exploitation of this resource in this time of crisis, writes activist Nityanand Jayaraman.
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 - 12:30
Activist Nityanand Jayaraman looks at budgetary allocations for Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change, Ministry of Jal Shakti, and Ministry of Agriculture and Farmer Welfare.
Sunday, July 7, 2019 - 12:36
Knowingly or unknowingly, the DMK manifesto questions the most destructive aspects of the current model of development while the AIADMK poll document offers little material to critique environmentally, writes activist Nityanand Jayaraman.
Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 14:55
Governments can be appreciated for moving swiftly, but can that be at the cost of due process?
Sunday, August 12, 2018 - 15:36
With no actual environment or social impact study being done, Nityanand Jayaraman writes the points he would raise had he been one of the farmers losing land.
Monday, June 25, 2018 - 12:35
People choose and pick their battles based on what they think is deserving of their attention, or who is the adversary that is causing the most damage writes Nityanand in this rebuttal.
Monday, June 4, 2018 - 18:39
The Government is either being led up the garden path by TNPCB or is trying to make a big fool of Thoothukudi residents.
Monday, May 28, 2018 - 18:35

Pages