Articles by Nityanand Jayaraman

When Vedanta was permitted to restart its oxygen facility, the state was desperate for oxygen. That’s not the case anymore — and Sterlite is hardly the most efficient oxygen producer.
Tuesday, July 13, 2021 - 16:57
CM MK Stalin had written a letter to PM Modi on Sunday urging him to cancel the Union government’s bid to extract hydrocarbon in the Cauvery basin.
Monday, June 14, 2021 - 18:17
The NGT has ordered a ban on the sale and use of fireworks in cities and towns where the average ambient air quality during November 2019 was in 'poor' and above categories.
Monday, November 9, 2020 - 14:46
“Stormwater drains are generally not necessary for these sandy coastal areas. Left open, these sands will soak up 40% of all rains that fall on it,” says Elango, an Anna University professor.
Sunday, October 18, 2020 - 16:46
Twelve people were killed and 3000 people were exposed to toxic Styrene gas in the Vizag tragedy that took place on May 7.
Friday, May 29, 2020 - 17:13
Residential areas and hazardous industries cannot co-exist. Planning authorities must ensure that the two are never allowed next to each other.
Thursday, May 28, 2020 - 12:50
That the ordinary people of India do not trust the political class is evident from the crowds of people that are on our highways walking, cycling, hitch-hiking home.
Saturday, May 16, 2020 - 11:12
The government order makes it illegal for any person or media outlet to air information on COVID-19 without obtaining prior permission from health officials.
Monday, March 16, 2020 - 17:25
The Madras High Court had recently directed the the Chennai Corporation to pursue the proposal for a beach road connecting Marina to Besant Nagar.
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 - 17:17
Proposals to establish two mega oil refineries within the Cauvery delta raises doubts of whether the delta environment may just be moving from the frying pan into the fire, writes Nityanand Jayaraman.
Wednesday, February 12, 2020 - 14:20

Pages