Articles by Nandhu Sundaram

Much of the film is based on Pudumaipithan’s ‘Chittrannai’, with the author’s favourite themes of feminism and male chauvinism underlined in every other scene.
Sunday, March 1, 2020 - 18:22
Kamal, who directed the film, besides overseeing most departments, inspires us with attention to detail.
Saturday, February 22, 2020 - 12:42
Based on the classic ‘Bhakta Vijayam’, the movie has – for its time – fluid camera movements, smooth cuts and iconic song sequences.
Sunday, December 1, 2019 - 18:27
The Ridley Scott film had a strong heroine in Sigourney Weaver, who iconised the role across the breadth of the entire original franchise.
Friday, November 1, 2019 - 14:46
The film, which stars Sujatha as Annakili and Sivakumar as Thiagarajan, came as a breath of fresh air for audiences at the time.
Saturday, May 11, 2019 - 18:20
The first Tamil film to be shot in Eastman Colour, 'Kadhalikke Neramillai' has evergreen humour and songs.
Monday, January 21, 2019 - 14:13
‘Chekka Chivantha Vaanam’ with its visceral violence is just following a long tradition of filmmakers choosing to show gore on screen to entertain audiences.
Saturday, September 29, 2018 - 11:59
Shankar always has the pulse of the audience and knows how to bring them to the theatres.
Wednesday, August 1, 2018 - 12:59
This web series presented by Karthik Subbaraj is a dark tale with characters who are new to Tamil content.
Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 11:45
Based in Ooty, Deepak has worked with several directors like Mani Ratnam, Shankar, and Bala.
Saturday, July 21, 2018 - 15:56

Pages