Warning message

  • The subscription service is currently unavailable. Please try again later.
  • The subscription service is currently unavailable. Please try again later.

Articles by Kavitha Muralidharan

PMK’s manifesto states it will strive to make parental consent mandatory for marriages between two adults under the age of 21, so young women ‘would not be led astray’.
Sunday, March 17, 2019 - 09:15
“We need to start very young, so that what happened to Anitha wouldn’t happen to more people when they grow older,” says Anitha’s brother Maniratnam.
Thursday, March 7, 2019 - 12:03
The film has a deceptively simple storyline but the treatment makes all the difference.
Monday, March 4, 2019 - 16:28
Parai artistes are unhappy with the government for not recognising the art form enough.
Saturday, March 2, 2019 - 17:35
Here’s one thing almost every serial follows: For some reason, heroines switch to sarees after marriage, even if they have to go to medical colleges to continue their education.
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 - 11:39
“Nobody wants to hear a positive Dalit story. You need a violence to bring a Dalit to a limelight. This is exactly what I wanted to change,” says activist Bharathi Prabhu.
Monday, February 4, 2019 - 12:36
The noted Tamil writer and Sakithya Akademi awardee passed away on Friday at the age of 73.
Saturday, December 22, 2018 - 11:38
The police sees Rajalakshmi’s death as a caste crime (and not a sex crime), whereas the society views it only as a sexual crime and not a caste crime, activists say.
Wednesday, October 31, 2018 - 11:46
Power cuts, piles of garbage, no transport system, no shops or hospitals nearby – these are just some problems facing residents who were moved in the Cooum beautification project.
Friday, September 7, 2018 - 10:43
An indefatigable screenwriter, Kalaignar wrote the dialogues for 40 movies, which spoke of widow remarriage, self-respect marriages and abolition of untouchability.
Tuesday, August 7, 2018 - 21:43

Pages