Many YSRCP legislators, who did not defect to the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in the last five years, have been given a ticket again.

YSRCP releases candidate list for Andhra polls Jagan to contest from Pulivendula
news Lok Sabha 2019 Sunday, March 17, 2019 - 14:02

The YSRCP on Sunday released its full list of candidates who will contest the 175 Legislative Assembly seats and 25 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh during the upcoming simultaneous elections scheduled for April 11. YSRCP chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy released the second and final list of candidates after paying tribute to his father and former Chief Minister YS Rajasekhar Reddy at his grave at Idupulapaya in Kadapa district, on Sunday.

Jagan will contest from his home ground of Pulivendula constituency. The list is a mix of old and fresh faces. Many legislators, who did not defect to the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in the last five years, were given a ticket again.

One of the prominent faces in the list of candidates for Lok Sabha includes industrialist Prasad V Potluri, who owns several business firms in the Telugu states. Commonly known as PVP, he had joined the YSRCP last week and has been given the Vijayawada Lok Sabha ticket. He is likely to go up against Kesineni Srinivas of the TDP.

Adala Prabhakar Reddy, who jumped ship despite being announced as a TDP candidate for Nellore rural constituency, was given the YSRCP’s Nellore MP ticket. Magunta Srinivas, another TDP defector, bagged the Ongole MP ticket, while Raghuram Krishna Raju was allotted the Narsapuram seat.

The list also features Gorantla Madhav, a Circle Inspector who quit his job to join the YSRCP recently following a public spat with TDP MP J C Diwakar Reddy. He will contest from Hindupur.

Jagan’s cousin YS Avinash Reddy has been given the Kadapa Lok Sabha ticket.

Other candidates include Chinta Anuradha (Amalapuram), N Suresh (Bapatla), Sanjiv Kumar (Kurnool), N Redappa (Chittoor), T Rangaiah (Anantapur) and G Madhavi (Araku).

As far as the MLA seats are concerned, the YSRCP has retained 40 sitting legislators. The party said that the list of Assembly candidates included nine who worked in All India Services and 15 doctors. Out of the 175 candidates, 33 are below 45 years.

Prominent names of defectors include Amanchi Krishna Mohan from Chirala, who recently joined the party, as well as Silpa Ravichandra Kishore Reddy and Silpa Chakrapani Reddy, who were given the Nandyal and Srisailam in Kurnool district. The Silpa family had shifted loyalties to the YSRCP during the Nandyal bye-elections held in 2017.

Former minister and senior Congress leader Dr Daggubati Venkateswara Rao, who joined the YSRCP in January, was given the Parchur ticket in Prakasam district, which is generally considered his bastion. He is the husband of senior politician Daggubatti Purandeswari, the daughter of TDP founder and former Chief Minister NT Rama Rao.

Actor-politician Roja, known to be a Jagan loyalist, will seek re-election from Nagari constituency in Chittoor district. Other loyalists such as Botsa Satyanarayana and Bhumana Karunakar Reddy were also given a ticket. The party has also decided to re-nominate incumbent MLA Alla Ramakrishna Reddy in Mangalagiri constituency to go up against Andhra IT Minister Nara Lokesh.



Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.