The novel had earlier bagged the Cherukad Award as well as the Basheer Memorial Prize.

Writer UK Kumaran chosen for this years Vayalar award for his novel Thakshankunnu SwarupanFacebook
news Literary Award Wednesday, October 05, 2016 - 17:33

Novelist and short story writer UK Kumaran has been selected for this year’s Vayalar award for his novel ‘Thakshankunnu Swarupan’ by a panel comprising eminent writers such as AK Sanu, Sethu, Mukundan, Kadathanad Narayan. The award ceremony is scheduled to be held on October 27, 2016.

Instituted in 1977 by the Vayalar Rama Varma Memorial Trust in memory of poet and lyricist the late Vayalar Rama Varma, the award consists of a certificate of merit along with a cash prize of one lakh rupees and a statuette sculpted by renowned sculptor Kanhayi Kunhi Raman.

The novel had earlier bagged the Cherukad Award as well as the Basheer Memorial Prize.

Kumaran’s short story collection ‘Policekarandeh Pennmakkal’ was awarded the Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award in 2011. He has also been the recipient of several other prestigious awards including the Appan Thampuran Prize, SK Pottekad Award, Thoppil Ravi Award, Deekshna Award and the Vaikkom Chandrashekaran Nair Prize.

His short story ‘Chalanam’ written at the age of 17 is his first published work, while ‘Valayam’ -his first novel- was published during his college days. His other novels include Aasakthee, Oridathumethaathavar, Kaanunathalla Kaazhchakkal, Ezhuthapettathu, Mulapaal.

Kumaran has also written novelettes like Prasavaward, Oroh Viliyum Kaathu, Ellaam Kaannuna Njan and Adheham Malarnnu Parakunha Kaaka. His prolific writing also boasts of 51 short story collections that include ones like Paavum Kallan, Madhurashythyam, Puthiya Iripiddangal and Madutha Kali.

Born on May 11, 1950 at Payyoli in Kozhikode, Kumaran has served as the vice president of the Kerala Sahitya Akademi and was also a member of the Kerala Kaumudi Editorial Committee.

Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.