The incident happened on Monday at the Karur Collectorate over the delay in filing of nomination papers for Jothimani.

VVIP Thambidurai eats into Cong contestant Jothimanis nomination time delays her
news Lok Sabha 2019 Tuesday, March 26, 2019 - 10:03

Tension prevailed at the Karur Collectorate on Monday noon as the police and DMK workers were caught in an argument. The altercation was apparently over the delay in filing of nomination papers for Congress candidate Jothimani.

In a video footage of the incident which is going viral on social media, the police are seen pushing Senthil Balaj, with both of them arguing as Jothimani watches on. She then asks the policeman on duty why Thambidurai had come to file nomination papers during the time allocated to her. “The one who is inside is not an MP. He is a candidate and so am I. We are waiting for half an hour here,” she is seen saying. Senthil Balaji is a former AIADMK MLA from the region, who recently crossed over to the DMK. 

According to one of Jothimani’s personal staff members, the argument ensued when AIADMK candidate M Thambidurai reached the District Collector’s office at the time slot allotted to Jothimani, to file his papers. “We were given the slot between 12 noon to 1pm to file the nomination papers. When we reached the Collectorate at the given time, we were made to wait and the police allowed Thambidurai inside at around 12.05pm. This led to an argument between us and the police, who were supporting Thambidurai,” he said. The altercation lasted upto half an hour after which Jothimani filed her nomination papers with the Collector.

Karur constituency, from where Lok Sabha deputy speaker and AIADMK senior leader M Thambidurai is an MP, is all set to witness a face-off between him and Congress leader Jothimani this year. While Thambidurai has been elected as the MP from Karur four times between 1989 and 2014, Jothimani had contested in the 2011 assembly election against then AIADMK leader V Senthil Balaji from Karur, and in 2014 general elections against M Thambidurai.

Tamil Nadu will vote on April 18 in 39 parliamentary constituencies and 18 assembly constituencies and the filing of nominations began on March 19. With Tuesday being the last date for filing nominations for both the elections, a good number of prominent candidates across the state filed their nominations on Monday. With the AIADMK and BJP teaming up for the Lok Sabha polls, DMK has joined hands with Congress.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.