The government brought back former Chennai Police Commissioner.

TN govt shuffles senior IPS IAS officers after Jaya becomes CMImage: Jayalalithaa/ PTI
news Tuesday, May 24, 2016 - 12:02
Written by  PTI

Hours after J Jayalalithaa assumed office as Chief Minister, Tamil Nadu government on Monday effected shuffling of senior IPS officials besides transferring several IAS officers, reversing several changes made in the run up to polls under the directions of Election Commission.

The government brought back former Chennai Police Commissioner T K Rajendran, DGP and IG prisons, as Chennai Police Commissioner replacing Ashutosh Shukla.

S George, DGP and Chairman of Tamil Nadu Uniformed Services Recruitment Board will hold additional charge as IG prison.

Shukla has been posted as ADGP, Enforcement, in place of J K Tripthy, an official release said.

Tripathy is back as ADGP, Law and Order, vice C Shylendra Babu, who was transferred and posted as ADGP, Coastal Security group.

Rajendran and Tripathy were transferred on the directions of EC following complaints from DMK.

Karan Singha, ADGP, Intelligence, was transferred as ADGP CB-CID and K N Sathyamurthy, IGP, was transferred as IGP, Intelligence.

In the IAS-level transfers, T N Venkatesh, who was posted Collector of Tiruvarur District during the run up to the polls, was posted as MD of Tamil Nadu Handloom Weaver Cooperative Society, replacing A Gnanasekaran.

M Mathivanan, who was Tiruvarur Collector till last month, will resume his previous posting.

Similarly, S Swarna, who too was posted as Senior Collector Pudukkottai District, will take over as Chairperson and MD of T N Urban Finance and Infrastructure Development Corporation vice K Phanindra Reddy holding additional charge.

S Ganesh, now Director of Employment and who preceded her will be back as Pudukkottai Collector.

Rajendra Ratnoo, who was also posted as Collector of Vellore District on the order of EC in April will now take over as MD of Poompuhar Shipping Corporation vice Sai Kumar holding additional charge.

R Nanthagopal who preceded Ratnoo will be back as Vellore Collector.

J Kumaragurubaran, Director, Information, would hold additional full charge as MD TN Arasu Cable TV Corporation with T K Ramachandran holding additional charge.