Apart from Modi, several Union Ministers including Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj will be campaigning in the state.

Telangana polls PM Narendra Modi to campaign in Nizamabad and MahabubnagarFile photo/ PTI
news Telangana 2018 Tuesday, November 27, 2018 - 08:51

With just over 10 days to go for the Telangana Assembly Elections, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will begin campaigning in the poll-bound state on Tuesday. According to Telangana BJP president, K Laxman, the first meeting will be in Nizamabad district at 11 am, while the second one will be in Mahabubnagar at noon. Laxman told the media that the Prime Minister would come for a second round of campaign in Telangana on December 3, where he would address a public meeting in Hyderabad.

Besides the PM, a battery of BJP cabinet ministers and leaders including Home Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP President Amit Shah Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Minister of External Affairs Sushma Swaraj, Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari, UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Telecommunication Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Minister of Railways Piyush Goyal, actor Hema Malini and several others would be campaigning in Telangana.

The BJP, which has been repeatedly dismissed as an irrelevant and non-existent party by the ruling TRS, are hopeful that these meetings would strengthen their campaign. This campaign is going to be a face-off between Modi and KCR, as the CM has been attacking the PM of having ‘Hindu-Muslim’ fever.

BJP National President Amit Shah has addressed four public meetings in different parts of the state on Sunday. He is scheduled to address more meetings on November 28 and December 2.

Congress President, Rahul Gandhi who addressed a public meeting in Medchal on Saturday, will campaign in the state on November 28 and 29. As per his schedule, he will address the gathering at Kodangal and Madhira on Day 1, and then in Bhupalapally and Parigi.

The Congress party has also disclosed the star campaigners who would be visiting the state. According to the party, besides, Rahul Gandhi, former Congress president Sonia Gandhi, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, former Speaker Meira Kumar, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Karnataka Minister DK Shivkumar, actors Khushbu, Vijayashanthi and Nagma along with several others will be campaigning in the state.

The BJP is contesting without any alliance in all the 119 Assembly seats, while the Congress is part of the Mahakutami—an alliance consisting of Congress, Telugu Desam Party, Telangana Jana Samithi and Communist Party of India. Telangana will go to polls on December 7, the results will be declared on December 11.

Click here to follow TNM's coverage of the Telangana Assembly Elections 2018 




Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.