According to officials, Asifabad district has recorded the highest voting of 49.05 percent.

Telangana polls Over 47 per cent voting recorded till 1 pm
news Telangana 2018 Friday, December 07, 2018 - 13:59

Telangana has recorded around 47.8 per cent polling till 1 pm on election day, according to official figures. According to officials, Asifabad district has recorded the highest voting of 49.05 per cent. Polling, which began at 7 am in most places, has been peaceful so far.

In some booths, however, there were reports of faulty EVMs, which irked several people. Some voters at AV college in Hyderabad who had reached the booth at 7.30 am had to wait till 10.30 am to register their votes. According to reports, voting was delayed by two hours at a polling booth in Banjara Hills Road too. The faulty EVM was replaced only by 9 am.

There are over 2.80 crore voters in the state, out of which 1.41 crore voters are male and 1.39 crore voters are female. According to the Election Commission, 7,04,372 voters have enrolled for the first time.

Follow TNM’s live blog here: Telangana goes to the polls in 119 constituencies

Telangana's Chief Electoral Officer Rajat Kumar said polling will continue till 5 p.m. except in 13 Left Wing Extremism affected constituencies, where it will end an hour early, at 4 pm.

Over 50,000 security personnel including 18,860 drafted from neighbouring states and central forces were deployed as part of the massive security arrangements. Over 1.50 lakh polling personnel were on duty to conduct the polling process. As many as 55,329 EVMs and 39,763 control units were arranged for the polling.

For the first time, Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) were installed across the state. The authorities have arranged 42,751 VVPAT, which are attached to the EVMS and will display for seven seconds the choice made by the voter.

The elections are expected to be a close contest between ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), which is contesting all seats on its own, and the opposition Congress-led People's Front. The opposition alliance also includes Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Communist Party of India and Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS).

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which is contesting all seats on its own, is the third key force in some constituencies. The Bahujan Left Front (BLD) led by the Communist Party of India-Marxist and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) are also contesting majority of the seats. All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is contesting eight seats in Hyderabad.

TRS had opted for dissolution of Assembly in September, eight months before its term was to end.

Click here to follow TNM's full coverage of the Telangana polls


Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.