news Thursday, June 05, 2014 - 05:30
The News Minute | June 1, 2014 | 5:16 PM IST  Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) chief K. Chandrasekhara Rao on Monday took oath as the first chief minister of Telangana, a few hours after it took birth as the 29th state of India, triggering wild celebrations across the region. On a historic day, Telangana witnessed series of events beginning with the lifting of president's rule in the new state. This was followed by Andhra Pradesh Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan taking oath as the Telangana governor early in the morning. Narasimhan later administered the oath of office and secrecy to 60-year-old Rao at a ceremony held at Raj Bhavan here. KCR, as Rao is popularly known, paid tributes to the martyrs of Telangana before taking oath. Eleven cabinet ministers including two deputy chief minister also took the oath with him. Mohammed Mahmood Ali and T. Rajaiah have been made deputy chief ministers. Ali will hold revenue portfolio while Rajaiah will look after medical and health. Senior TRS leader N. Narasimha Reddy will be home minister. Those who took the oath include KCR's son K. Taraka Rama Rao and nephew Harish Rao. Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted: "India gets a new state! We welcome Telangana as our 29th state. Telangana will add strength to our development journey in the coming years." "Telangana's birth comes after years of struggle and sacrifices by several people. We pay our respects to them today," Modi tweeted minutes after Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan administered the oath of office and secrecy to Rao. He said Centre assures complete support to the people and Telangana government in taking the state to newer heights of progress. KCR later unfurled the national flag and reviewed a colourful parade at the main official celebrations held at the Parade Ground. The TRS chief, who revived the Telangana movement 14 years ago, promised a corruption-free and transparent government with its top priority to work for the welfare of the poor and weaker sections of society. He announced a series of sops for government employees and assured people that TRS will fulfil all its poll promises. KCR later reached his office at the state secretariat and assumed office. He signed the first file relating to Telangana's logo. Celebrations broke out across Telangana Monday. 'Jai Telangana' rent the air as the region comprising 10 districts erupted in celebrations to mark the fulfilment of nearly 60-year-old dream of the people. Bursting of firecrackers, unfurling of the national flag, distribution of sweets and greetings marked the celebrations, which began midnight. Hundreds gathered at Gun Park near the state assembly building to pay their tributes to the martyrs of Telangana. Firecrackers, especially brought from Mumbai, were burst at several traffic junctions and the main roads in Hyderabad. Telangana protagonists took to the streets and were seen dancing to the tunes of popular Telangana song. Celebrations were held on a grand scale on Tank Bund and Necklace Road around Hussain Sagar lake, which divides the twin cities of Hyderabad and Secunderabad. Similar celebrations were held in nine other districts of Telangana. Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief N. Chandrababu Naidu, who is set to take oath as the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh, hoisted the national flag at NTR Trust Bhavan, the party headquarters. Similar functions were organised at offices of the Congress party, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and other parties, non-political pro-Telangana groups and unions of government employees. The formation of Telangana as a separate state followed passage of Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill in parliament in February this year. With this Andhra Pradesh has split into two states. Telangana comprises 10 districts while the residuary state of Andhra Pradesh comprises 13 districts of coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema. Hyderabad, one of the 10 districts of Telangana, will serve as the common capital of both the states for 10 years. The bifurcation brought the curtains down on undivided Andhra Pradesh, which was formed Nov 1, 1956 with the merger of Telangana with the then Andhra State. IANS
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.