TDP legislators stopped from entering Telangana assembly
news Thursday, April 09, 2015 - 05:30
Tension prevailed in the premises of Telangana legislative assembly on Thursday when the security personnel stopped legislators of opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) from entering the building. Ten lawmakers, who were already suspended from the House for the entire budget session, faced embarrassing situation when the security staff did not allow them to enter the building. The opposition legislators had a heated argument with the security officers, questioning the curbs on their movement in the assembly. The police intervened and evicted the lawmakers. The legislators on Wednesday were prevented from addressing the media at media point in the assembly premises. They later called on Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan to lodge a complaint. The legislators, who were suspended for the entire session due to the alleged disrespect shown to national anthem during the governor's address on March 7, have been staging protest in the assembly premises in one form or the other. The legislators led by TDP floor leader E. Dayakar Rao on Tuesday staged a sit-in in the speaker's chamber to seek disqualification of the TDP legislators, who had defected to the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in the last few months. The TDP legislators who defected to TRS include T. Srinivas Yadav, who has now been made a minister. They are also unhappy with Speaker Madhusudhana Chary for doing injustice to them in seating arrangement. With IANS   Tweet Follow @thenewsminute
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.