TDP-BJP combine sweeps Kakinada Municipal Corporation elections

The TDP has won the KMC elections after 30 years, winning 32 out of the 48 seats.
TDP-BJP combine sweeps Kakinada Municipal Corporation elections
TDP-BJP combine sweeps Kakinada Municipal Corporation elections
Written by :

After 30 years, the TDP-BJP alliance won the Kakinada Municipal Corporation elections taking 35 seats out of 48 on Friday.

The TDP won 32 seats, while its ally BJP won three. The YSRCP won 10 seats and others won 3.

The TDP-BJP sweep come close on the heels of the ruling party’s victory in the Nandyal bye-election.  

The counting of votes, which took place at Rangaraya Medical College in Kakinada saw initial trends showing that the TDP would win with a majority.

A total of 119 independent candidates contested in the elections and three of them won.

The election was conducted for 48 divisions out of 50 divisions in 196 polling stations.

The Kakinada Municipal polls were conducted after 12 years.

The last Municipal body election at Kakinada was in 2005. After the tenure of the elected body ended in 2010, Kakinada has been administered under a special officer regime.

The election was held on Tuesday, which witnessed a voting percentage of 67%, according to The Hans India.

Addressing the media, following the victory, TDP president and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister, N Chandrababu Naidu said that the TDP emerged victorious despite a few trying to divide the people based on caste and religion lines. He said that the victory proves that the people have rejected the false propaganda spread to defeat the TDP.

Naidu said that Kakinada would be made into a smart city, as announced earlier. “I have reviewed the smart city progress of Kakinada, I am not satisfied with it yet. It is still in initial stages,” Naidu observed.

He said that the people have appreciated the government’s performance.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute