Only 7 shops are being shut down in Chennai

Tamil Nadus liquor phase-out begins 500 shops to be shut down on Sunday
news Prohibition Sunday, June 19, 2016 - 09:42

Almost a month after chief minister J Jayalalithaa announced that 500 Tasmac shops would be closed and the timings of other shops would change, the Tasmac management has released a region-wise list of shops that are to be closed from Sunday.

In a statement released by the new managing director R Kirlosh Kumar, TASMAC announced that 201 shops will be closed in Madurai region comprising Madurai, Dindigul, Ramanathapuram, Virudhunagar, Sivaganga, Tirunelveli, Tuticorin, Theni and Kanyakumari districts.

The Trichy region consisting of districts in the Cauvery delta will see 133 shops being closed. Sivaganga district will close 43 shops.

The Chennai region consisting of Chennai, Kancheepuram and Tiruvallur districts will see 58 shops being closed.

Only seven shops are being closed in Chennai city. Employees working in these shops are being redeployed.


Topic tags,