New collectors have been appointed in six districts including Ernakulam, Kannur and Thiruvananthapuram.

Shuffle in Kerala bureaucracy New Collectors in six districts
news Bureaucracy Thursday, June 13, 2019 - 08:50

A cabinet meeting of Kerala ministers has led to major reshuffles within the top bureaucracy of the state, with new Collectors being appointed in Ernakulam, Kannur and Thiruvananthapuram districts. 

While Alappuzha District Collector S Suhas will now assume charge as Ernakulam District Collector, K Gopalakrishnan, who was the Deputy Secretary of Public Affairs has been appointed as District Collector of Thiruvananthapuram. 

Kannur Collector Mir Mohammad Ali has been asked to assume charge as Director of Suchitwa Mission. In Kannur, TV Subash - Information and Public Relations Department Director - will take charge as District Collector. 

Kollam, Alappuzha and Malappuram too will see a change in bureaucracy. While Housing Commissioner B Abdul Nasser will take charge as Kollam District Collector, Jafar Malik - director of the Social Justice Department has been given the post of Malappuram Collector. 

In Alappuzha, ASAP (Additional Skill Acquisition Programme) Executive Officer Dr Adeela Abdulla will take charge as District Collector. 

Meanwhile, KMRL MD Mohammad Hanish will serve as the new Commerce Department (PSU) Secretary. Rani George, Secretary of the Department of Culture will also assume additional responsibility as MD of Kerala State Co-operative Banks ltd.

A Shajahan, Public Education Secretary has been given additional responsibility of Sainik Welfare and Printing and Stationery departments. 

As for Special Agriculture Secretary Dr Rathan Khelkar, the bureaucrat will assume position as the Director of Agricultural Development and Farmer Welfare Fepartment in addition to current responsibilities. 

Land Board Secretary CA Latha has been made Land Revenue Commissioner and Land Revenue Joint Commissioner UV Jose has been appointed as CEO of Life Mission. Ernakulam Collector Mohammad Y Safirulla has been appointed as Additional Commissioner, State GST. He will also hold the additional position of Joint secretary, IT department. 

Malappuram District Collector Amit Meena will take charge as director of ANERT - Agency for Non-conventional Energy and Rural technology. He will also hold additional responsibility as Director of the Kerala State Lottery Department.

Picture by Arunvarmaother~commonswiki