13 changes have been made to the candidates list, no official word on TMC yet

Revisions galore in AIADMK candidate list and murmurs of TMC being back in the fray
news TN 2016 Thursday, April 07, 2016 - 08:23

On Wednesday, AIADMK general secretary and Chief Minister Jayalalithaa effected 13 changes in the list of 227 candidates released a few days ago. 

This came after complaints started pouring in against some of the partymen given seats in the first list and to accommodate some prominent leaders, the original list was altered for the second successive day.

Fisheries Minister KA Jayapal, who was denied a seat, has lost the post of Nagapattinam district secretary as well.

AIADMK spokesperson, CR Saraswathi, has been allotted the Pallavaram constituency. She replaces CV Elangovan, chairman of the Pammal Municipality, who had been seen hoisting the National flag while talking on his mobile phone.

Elangovan’s photograph went viral on social media after he was announced as the candidate, possibly leading to his removal.

Saraswathi Rangasamy, chairperson, Tamil Nadu Child Rights Commission, who had been nominated for the T. Nagar constituency, was replaced by B Sathyanarayana alias T. Nagar Sathya, a member of the Chennai Corporation’s Appointment Committee.

Meanwhile, Tamil Maanila Congress is likely to be part of the AIADMK alliance with intense speculation doing the rounds that an understanding has been arrived at between the two parties through back channel talks. 

“There has been no official communication yet. We are waiting,“ Vasan told The Times of India. Sources told Deccan Chronicle the AIADMK could offer 14 seats to the TMC and allow it to contest from its own symbol.

The decision to re-launch talks with the AIADMK was taken after there was significant opposition within the TMC to the idea of aligning with People’s Welfare Alliance led by DMDK chief Vijayakanth. Several leaders opposed to the idea saying there was no chance of winning seats in that alliance.


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!

You can also support us with a one-time payment.

Rs 200Rs 500Rs 1500Custom