This practice started in the mid-70s

No daylight saving in Karnataka here govt work hours get changed because of heatPTI/ Representational image
news Tuesday, April 05, 2016 - 19:18

As the mercury continues to soar and drought-like conditions prevail in some parts of the state, the yearly practice in northern Karnataka districts of advancing the working hours in government offices commenced from April 1.

This practice of work hours from 8 am to 1.30 pm instead of 10 am to 5.30 pm for employees of the government, local government and State undertakings was introduced in the mid-1970s and was discontinued in some years.

The northern part of Karnataka witnesses excessive heat waves in the months of March-May in the region.

On April 1, this change of timings was applied in six northern districts of Bidar, Kalaburagi, Yadgir, Raichur, Koppal, Ballari of Kalaburgi division and Vijayapura and Bagalkot of the Belagavi division.

Refer to the chart below for the highest temperatures in March in the eight districts



Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.