Features Friday, September 26, 2014 - 05:30
The News Minute | September 24, 2014 | 8.50 am IST Of course, there are hundreds of scientists, engineers and others who worked on making India's Mars mission a success. These are the scientists who lead the team and the mission. K. Radhakrishnan – Chairman of ISRO and Secretary in the Department of Space. He took charge as the Chairman in 2009. Born in Kerala and educated in IIT, he joined ISRO at the age of 22. He is also a carnatic vocalist and Kathakali artist. He was awarded Padma Bhushan in 2014. Mylswamy Annadurai - Programme Director of Mangalyaan. Born in Tamil Nadu he completed his education in Coimbatore and joined ISRO at the age of 24 in 1982.  S. Ramakrishnan – Former director of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre. He joined ISRO in 1972 and has since then contributed immensely to many missions including Mangalyaan launch.    S.K. Shivkumar – Director of ISRO Satellite Centre. Born in Mysore and educated in IISC, Bengaluru he joined ISRO in 1976 and has developed the telemetry system for the Mangalyaan. V. Adimurthy – Mission Concept Designer of MOM. Born in Andhra Pradesh and educated in IIT, Kanpur, he joined ISRO in 1973. P. Kunhikrishnan – Project Director of PSLV Programme. Born in Kerala he joined ISRO in 1986. Under him the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre has had seven successful PSLV launches.    Subbiah Arunan – Project Director of MOM. Born in Tamil Nadu he completed mechanical enginnering and joined ISRO in 1984. He was responsible to build the Mangalyaan spacecraft. (Image courtesy- NDTV) A.S. Kiran Kumar - Director of the Satellite Application Centre. Born in Karnataka he completed in education in Bangalore University and IISC. He joined ISRO in 1975.  M. Chandradathan - Director of the Liquid Propulsion System. Born in Kerala and having graduated with a degree in chemical engineering he joined ISRO in 1972. He is a specialist in rocket propulsion.  M.Y.S. Prasad - Director of Satish Dhawan Space Centre. Born in Andhra Pradesh he graduated with a degree in electronics and communication engineering and joined ISRO in 1975. He was in-charge of range safety and schedules and the rocket port.  V. Keshavaraju – Mission Director for post launch operations. He and his team will track the journey of Mangalyaan in the outer space.
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.