Stating that TJS is contesting only in those constituencies where it is strong, the party said discussion could continue on seat sharing.

Major jolt to Mahakutami TJS says it will contest 12 seats in Telangana
news Telangana 2018 Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 07:28

In another jolt to the 'Mahakutami' (Grand Alliance) of opposition parties in Telangana, the Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) on Wednesday announced that it will contest in 12 constituencies in the upcoming Assembly elections in the state next month.

Even before the constituents could reach a formal agreement over seat sharing, the fledgling TJS announced the list of constituencies where it plans to field its candidates.

TJS Vice President P.L. Vishweshwar Rao told reporters that TJS will contest for the seats of Dubbaka, Medak, Malkajgiri, Amberpet, Siddipet, Warangal East, Vardhannapeta, Asifabad, Station Ghanpur, Jangaon, Mahabubnagar and Miryalguda.

Stating that TJS is contesting only in those constituencies where it is strong, Rao said discussion could continue on seat sharing.

Elections to the 119-member Assembly are scheduled to be held on December 7. The last date for filing of nominations is November 19.

The Congress party, which is heading the alliance, has already announced that it will contest 93 seats, leaving 14 seats to the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), 8 seats to the TJS and 3 seats to the Communist Party of India (CPI).

However, TJS leader M. Kodandaram, who met Congress President Rahul Gandhi on November 2, had demanded 17 seats.

CPI has also announced candidates for 9 seats, blaming inordinate delay in seat sharing for its unilateral decision. Congress has so far announced 75 candidates while TDP has declared its candidates for nine constituencies.

On Wednesday, the Telangana unit of the TDP announced its candidates for two more Assembly constituencies, Sama Ranga Reddy for Ibrahimpatnam and Ganesh Gupta for Rajendranagar, taking the total count to eleven candidates out of the 14 seats it has been offered.

Meanwhile, the Congress announced 10 more candidates on Wednesday, making it a total of 75 candidates so far.

According to the list, Ramesh Rathod will contest from Khanapur, Congress Chief Spokesperson Sravan Dasoju from Khairtabad, Adluri Laxman Kumar from Dharmapuri, Kichannagari Laxma Reddy from Medchal, P Vishnuvardhan from Jubilee Hills, C Pratap Reddy from Shadnagar, Gandra Venkata Ramana Reddy from Bhupalapally and Kandala Upender Reddy from Palair.

The Congress has chosen to field KK Mahender Reddy against the TRS president’s son and IT Minister, KT Rama Rao, from Sircilla. 

Meanwhile, Sravan Dasoju will contest against Danam Nagender in Khairatabad, who had joined the TRS alleging that the BC community was neglected by the Congress.

The state will go to the polls on December 7 and counting of votes will take place on December 11.


IANS inputs


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.