PC George and Gouriamma left in the lurch with no seats

LDFs seat-sharing issues sorted CPIM to contest in 92 seats
news Kerala Polls 2016 Monday, March 28, 2016 - 17:44

While big brother CPI(M) walks away with the lion share of 92 seats, CPI was forced to be satisfied with just 27 -the same as before- with their last minute haranguing failing to yield any further increase in their share.

With CPI(M) being forced to walk a political tightrope to keep all its allies happy, PC George-led Kerala Congress (Secular)  and Gouriamma-led Janaathyapathya Samrakshana Samiti (JSS) proved to be the first casualties in the build-up to the May 16 Kerala assembly elections. Both were left in the lurch with no seats announced as their share.

The detailed list is as follows:

CPI(M) – 92

CPI – 27

Janata Dal (Secular) - 5

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) - 4

Congress (S) - 1

Kerala Congress (Scaria Thomas faction) - 1

Outside support

Kerala Congress (Balakrishna Pillai faction) - 1

Kerala Congress (PC George faction) - Nil

Kerala Congress (Democratic) led by Francis George - 4

Janaathyapathya Samrakshana Samiti (JSS) led by KR Gouriamma - Nil

Indian National League (INL) led by SA Puthiyavalappil - 3

Forward Bloc - Nil

National Secular Conference led by PTA Rahim - Nil

Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP-Leninist) led by Kovoor Kunjumon - 1

Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP-Left) led by CP Karhtikeyan - Nil

Communist Marxist Party (CMP) led by KR Aravindakshan - 1

CPI(ML) Red Flag led by PC Unnichekkan - Nil

Whether all those LDF allies who came a cropper with respect to seat-sharing will continue in the Left fold is surely going to be an interesting topic for discussion in the coming days.

Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.