CM Chandy’s herculean efforts to include them in the list pays off.

Kerala Ministers K Babu KC Joseph and Adoor Prakash set to contest assembly polls
news Kerala2016 Tuesday, April 05, 2016 - 10:00

The Indian National Congress in Kerala finally managed to put up a list of 83 candidates after much political mongering between the state Chief Minister Oommen Chandy and Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) president VM Sudheeran.

With Sudheeran not willing to back off from his opposition to field tainted candidates and Chandy sticking to his guns with regard to not denying seats to his loyalists, the Congress High Command had a hard time catering to both sides.

For now, Chandy seems to have gained the upper hand with all three controversy-ridden ministers in his cabinet being given seats.

Excise Minister K Babu will contest from Tripunithura in Ernakulam, Culture Minister KC Joseph from Irikkoor in Kannur and Revenue Minister Adoor Prakash is all set to contest from Konni in Pathanamthitta.

While Babu’s name figured in the bar bribery scam, Joseph got into trouble with the judiciary for a Facebook post, whereas Prakash found himself in a soup regarding a land case involving controversial godman Santhosh Madhavan.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!

You can also support us with a one-time payment.

Rs 200Rs 500Rs 1500Custom