Gandhi will later address public meetings in Bantwal and Gonikoppal towns in Dakshina Kannada district on Friday.

Karnataka polls Rahul Gandhi to visit state again release party manifesto
Karnataka Elections Karnataka 2018 Thursday, April 26, 2018 - 07:32

Congress President Rahul Gandhi will again pay a two-day visit to Karnataka from Thursday and release his party's manifesto for the May 12 Assembly polls, a party official said.

The Congress chief will visit Uttara Kannada district in northwestern part of the state, about 450 km from Bengaluru, on Thursday to hold several public meetings in Ankola, Kumta, Honnavar, and Bhatkal.

"Gandhi will also release the election manifesto in Mangaluru on Friday in the presence of senior leaders like (Karnataka incharge) KC Venugopal and Chief Minister Siddaramaiah," Congress state unit Spokesman Ravi Gowda told IANS in Bengaluru.

Gandhi will later address public meetings in Bantwal and Gonikoppal towns in Dakshina Kannada district on Friday.

In the evening, the Congress leader will address a public meeting in Periyapatna in Mysuru district, about 200km southwest from Bengaluru.

Rahul Gandhi had earlier asked party leaders from Karnataka to prepare a "people's manifesto".

Rahul Gandhi's mother and former party chief Sonia Gandhi, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, senior leaders Shashi Tharoor, Mallikarjun Kharge and Ghulam Nabi Azad, among others, will also visit the state for campaigning.

Rahul Gandhi earlier visited Karnataka on April 7-8 for campaigning.

In fact, the party will have 40 of its senior leaders to campaign ahead of the May 12 Karnataka Assembly polls.

In a letter to the Election Commission (EC) written by senior party leader Motilal Vora on Tuesday, the 40 leaders have been chosen as the "star campaigners" for the Congress.

To ensure the ruling Congress' success in the ensuing polls, the party will also fly in to the southern state its leaders like Rajasthan unit Congress chief Sachin Pilot, the party's Lok Sabha MP from Madhya Pradesh Jyotiraditya Madhavrao Scindia and former cricketer and party leader Mohammad Azharuddin among others.

In addition, Congress leaders from Karnataka like the state incharge KC Venugopal, state unit chief G Parameshwara, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, Lok Sabha lawmaker and former Chief Minister M Veerappa Moily and state unit working President Dinesh Gundu Rao, among others, will also be a part of the campaign.

The party said it will also bring in popular faces from the film industry for campaigning like actor-turned-politician Raj Babbar, actor and party spokeswoman Kushboo Sundar, renowned Kannada actor and sitting MLA from Mandya MH Ambareesh and former Kannada actor and Congress social media incharge Ramya.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.