istorically, Hebbal has been a Congress stronghold

Karnataka By-polls BJP wins two out of three seats while Congress manages one
news Karnataka Tuesday, February 16, 2016 - 13:28

The BJP in Karnataka managed to win two of the three seats in the by-elections that were held in the state after counting began at 8 am on Tuesday morning. 

Congress candidate Rahim Khan won from Bidar while BJP's Y.A Narayan Swamy and Shivana Gouda Naik won from Hebbal and Devadurga constituency respectively.

“This only proves that the support for BJP in the state is increasing. We had also won the BBMP polls about four months back. But Congress cobbled up the majority by illegal means and formed the BBMP administration. Two, the negligence of Bengaluru city and total failure of state administration of the state in Karnataka,” said  BJP spokesperson S Prakash. 

By-elections of three assembly constituencies and the first phase of Zila and Taluk Panchayat polls in 15 districts of Karnataka were held on Saturday.

By-elections were held for Hebbal, Bidar and Devadurga seats as they had fallen vacant due to the death of sitting members.

This can be a marker for Chief Minister Siddaramaiah as the bypoll and ZP, TP polls results could stand the government in good stead ahead of the 2018 Assembly elections.

These results, however, do not have any impact on the current government as the BJP and the JDS won 40 seats each as opposed to Congress’s 122 (nine more than the magic number) seats in the 224-seat assembly.

Historically, Hebbal has been a Congress stronghold while the BJP won the Bidar seat after the 2013 elections.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.