news Sunday, May 03, 2015 - 05:30
Days after the Union Cabinet announced the "100 Smart Cities Project" across the country, the State hopes that at least ten cities would be included in its flagship programme so that it would give a boast to its infrastructure development, reported The Hindu. Urban Development Minister Vinay Kumar Sorake was quoted by the paper as, “Going by the population size and other parameters, at least 10 cities in Karnataka must get approval under the smart cities project." Since there are three categories to be included under the "Smart Cities Project", the State has proposed the following towns and cities:  Towns and cities with a population of less than 5 lakh - Ramanagaram, Channapatna, Devanahalli, and Tumakuru Towns and cities with a population of 5 to 10 lakh - Kalaburagi, Belagavi, Hubballi-Dharwad, and Mangaluru Heritage category - Vijayapura, Udupi and Hosapete