The state government and Survey of India will conduct a re-surveying exercise of land and properties in the state.

Ktaka cabinet clears formation of 12 more taluks including two in Kodagu
news Administration Friday, March 01, 2019 - 09:08


The Karnataka cabinet on Thursday cleared the proposal of carving out 12 new taluks in 10 districts including Kodagu, as proposed by Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy in his budget speech. The new taluks were formed on grounds of better and effective administration and some of the new taluk formations were proposed by the Siddaramaiah government.

The 12 taluks include two new taluks in the hilly tourist district of Kodagu. The two new taluks carved out will be Kaveri from Kushalnagar taluk and Ponnampet taluk in the south. TIll now, Kodagu was divided into Madikeri, Somwarpet and Virajpet taluks. And people for long had been demanding for these new taluks in addition to another in Napoklu, which was not accorded by the state government.

According to The New Indian Express, the revenue department has been authorised to open its offices for the new taluks while rest of the departments will open their taluk level offices in the newly formed district after approval from the Finance Department.


  • . Harohalli in Ramanagara 
  • . Cheluru in Chikkaballapur
  • . Teradala in Bagalkot
  • . Kalasa in Chikkamagaluru
  • . Ponnampet and Kushalnagar in Kodagu
  • . Alamela in Vijayapura
  • . Mulki and Ullal in DK
  • . Saligrama in Mysuru
  • Shantigrama in Hassan
  • . Yaragatti in Belagavi


Speaking on this, Revenue Minister RV Deshpande said the state government will resurvey lands and properties in the state using advanced technologies including drones, along with the Survey of India. 

The first phase of the re-surveying process will cover five districts— Tumakuru, Hassan, Uttara Kannada, Belagavi, Ramanagara as well as Bengaluru city and will take two years. The surveying process will cost Rs 110 crore to be borne by the central government while Rs 15 crore will be spent by the state government to survey the capital city of Bengaluru.



Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.