The MP nominated Telangana Deputy CM Mahmood Ali, Andhra Jyothi MD Radha Krishna, badminton star Saina Nehwal and director Rajamouli.

Haritha Haram TRS MP Kavitha plants saplings throws green challenge to 4 others
news News Sunday, July 22, 2018 - 08:53

Nizamabad MP Kalvakuntla Kavitha on Saturday planted 3 saplings in front of her residence in Hyderabad as part of a ‘green challenge’.

Taking to Twitter to share a picture of one of the saplings, Kavitha said that she was extending the same challenge to Telangana Deputy Chief Minister Mahmood Ali, Andhra Jyothi MD Vemuri Radha Krishna, badminton star Saina Nehwal and director Rajamouli. 

On July 27, celebrating the occasion of former President Dr Abdul Kalam’s birthday Igniting Minds and Walk for Water, two charitable organisations, will forward the Telangana government’s Haritha Haram program by challenging people to plant three saplings each, and as part of the challenge, MP Kavitha has planted three saplings in front of her house in Hyderabad.

“The primary aim of this program is to encourage planting saplings in a competitive and fun way. MP Kavitha has said that planting trees is the easiest way anybody can contribute to nature and tackle droughts, global warming and other environmental challenges. She also said it is the responsibility of all the citizens to promote this program and bring awareness on planting trees and contributing to nature,” a press release stated.

“Giving a clean environment to the younger generations is the best that we can offer for the coming ages. For that, we all need to make a habit of planting trees,” Kavitha said.

The TRS MP also said  that the job does not finish with the planting, but proper care needs to be taken to protect the saplings.

All three people nominated by the MP accepted the challenge.

Olympian Saina Nehwal also posted images of her, planting a sapling on Twitter and said, “Thank you ma’am for nominating me. Let’s all together make our world greener and clean. Here’s my contribution.”

She further nominated Taapsee Pannu, Shraddha Kapoor and Esha Gupta.


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.