MK Stalin will contest from Kolathur for the second time

DMK list is out Karunanidhi from Tiruvarur Stalin to contest from Kolathur
news TN2016 Wednesday, April 13, 2016 - 17:59

After weeks of deliberation and interviews, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam has published its list of candidates.

The DMK chief M Karunanidhi will contest once again from Tiruvarur. Though this is his hometown, Karunanidhi was never able to contest from this seat till 2011, as it was a reserved seat.

MK Stalin will contest from Kolathur for the second time. Stalin had contested four-time from Thousand Lights in Chennai.

As reported by some media putlets, Khushbhu Sundar is not the candidate from RK Nagar, but DMK's Simla Muthusolan will contest against J Jayalalithaa from the constituency. Simla Muthusolan is the daughter-in-law of former minister Sarguna Pandian, and is from the dominant Nadar community.

DMK leader Ponmudi is the party's candidate from Tirukovilur. A local court on Wednesday meanwhile has said that it will pronounce judgement on a disproportionate assets case on the 18th of this month.

Former Chennai mayor M Subramaniam will contest from Saidapet. Trichy strongman KN Nehru will contest from Trichy North.

Taking on AIADMK's Natham Viswanathan is DMK's Periyasamy, who has won from the constituency four times. The AIADMK shunted Natham Vishwanathan from his home constituency of Natham where he had won the election multiple times.

Duraimurugan will contest from Katpady.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.