news Thursday, November 06, 2014 - 05:30
The News Minute | November 1, 2014 | 10:01 am IST Bangalore will be officially known as Bengaluru from today, November 1. 11 other cities in Karnataka have also been officially renamed by the government. The Karnataka government issued a notification to the effect on Friday evening. This move comes almost 9 years after the late U R Ananthamurthy had made a proposal in 2005 to change the name of Bangalore to Bengaluru.  Belgaum will now be officially known as Belagavi, Mangalore as Mangaluru, Mysore as Mysuru, Bellary as Ballari, and Hubli as Hubballi. Tumkur will known as Tumakuru, Bijapur as Vijapura, Chikmagalur as Chikkamagaluru, Gulbarga as Kalaburagi, Hospet as Hosapete and Shimoga as Shivamogga.
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.